At the Halfway Mark

As the cliche goes, ‘…and in a flash, it was over’.

In a flash, half of 2015 flew by. In a flash, we hit 3 years and counting. In a flash, he got down on one knee. In a flash, I found a ring on my finger (yes, sometimes I still wonder how it got there). In a flash, those days of dreaming up a wedding was over and I actually had to get down to some realities.

Things do move quite quickly. Time expands and contracts. Quarrels wax and wane. Passion ebbs and flows. And no matter how I look at it, there’s nothing like standing at the halfway mark, to marvel at how two very imperfect and different people, even decide to journey the rest of their lives together. Of course, it starts with a bended knee, and a unique bling.

In fact, with regard to the ring, I think I gave a pretty demanding but reasonable challenge (what you get when you want to marry a teacher):

  1. Don’t get me a normal/usual diamond.
  2. I don’t wear rings, so give me a good reason for wearing the one you get me.
  3. If it is ugly, I may say ‘Yes’, but I’ll put it in the box.

Teachers never really have all the answers, but they do have a lot of challenges to keep a worthy audience engaged…So I’d like to think.

In any case, his biggest surprise was the significance of the ring, more than the ring itself. I love the way J sees symbolism in the little things, and can bring value to something that is pretty much ‘just a diamond’ (like I said, I’m not big on jewellery). And I’ll never forget (or at least try never to forget), that beside the still waters of where we first held hands three years ago, he anchored the next part of our journey with Psalm 84:11 “For the LORD God is a sun and shield; the LORD bestows favor and honor; no good thing does he withhold from those whose walk is blameless.” And with a beautiful canary diamond (that looked like both the sun and a shield), he met all the demands of a pretty reasonable person.

So I said, ‘Yes’ (how could I not?).

Intense and orange - rare gem ok!

Truth be told, I’d never thought we’d reach here.

There were tearful nights that we spent doubting ourselves and our relationship. There were times when it seemed like our differences would explode us apart. And there were moments when our pride made us feel like walking away from one another.

But there is beauty in the perfect love of God – that humbles us before one another, softens our hearts toward one another, and draws us back to the wonder of when it first began.

Because quite frankly, no one ever thought that we would make that deep a mark in one another’s lives when we first met.

Leave a comment